Welcome to race season!

It has been a slow transition from winter to spring, but spring seems to finally be here.  And if spring is here to stay for a while, so is training and race season.  I have been meaning to recap the last few weeks, but am finally making the time now that my kids are on summer vacation.

Girls on the Run:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   This was the first season for my 2nd grader who just turned 8 to give Girls on the Run a try.  She is not a real sporty kid-prefers artwork, books, t.v. and the occasional bike ride, but she wanted to try running like I do.  All I can say is success!  The girls met twice a week at school and not only ran, but did team building, self-esteem, and mentored one another.  We drove down two weekends ago to Lincoln, Nebraska for the state GOTR event.  It was definitely a bit overwhelming with almost 2000 girls, but between the face paint, hair dye, team shirts, race bibs, and friends all around my daughter had a great experience.  And she exceeded my expectations by shaving time off her 5K, only walked at the water stops, and even sprinted to the finish.  And now she is begging to do some fun runs this summer.  As a coach and mother, I am very proud of her and cannot wait until next year.

Ella before the Girls on the Run 5K

Ella before the Girls on the Run 5K

Lucky Bucket 7K Trail Run:
I am all for fun runs, especially when trails are involved, but I definitely have more of a competitive edge.  I had no expectations at the Lucky Bucket 7k trail run, but was not expecting 1300 individuals with little to no running experience who were rather scared of the extreme trail conditions.  It was obvious rather quickly that most of the folks came out for the free beer which is not my cup of tea.  When I race, I plan to race and then have fun.  This event turned out to be a little bit of running with lots of standing around and hiking.  I have learned my lesson, from now on if I sign up for these races, I will move to the front of the line so I can actually race.  Trail running is super addicting when done right-downhills, uphill, water crossings, and stump jumping is all a part of it.  Lesson learned-be more selective when choosing which trails races to do.  For those in the midwest, check out the GOATz-Greater Omaha Trail Runners (www.irunwithgoats.com)

Kansas City Triathlon:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        This past weekend was my first triathlon of the season!!!!  Or so I thought…  I recruited some of my clients to take the road trip from Omaha to Kansas City to tackle out first triathlon.  Most of my clients signed up for the sprint distance or a team tri, but I was ready for an early season Olympic distance.  I was warned that storms were a possibility all weekend, but watching the radar, thought we might get lucky.  Luck was not in our favor.  Waiting in our wetsuits at the water at 7:30 am, the storm arrived.  The race directors had us wait about 25 minutes to see if the storm would pass, but no such luck.    Lightening, strong waves, wind, and rain stuck around for about an hour.  The race directors made the call to cancel the race.  I am not completely upset that I did not race since I feel my personal training has been lacking a bit thanks to a very long winter.  Some of my clients are ready to throw in the towel and skip racing this season-I am the complete opposite.  I am ready to tackle the tri’s and show them that one cancellation cannot throw me off my game.  What is frustrating is that due to some politics, the Lawrence 5150 was the same day.  They had the same weather, but rather than cancel waited a bit and then did a time trial bike and run.  I sure wish we could have done that, but when it comes to nasty weather, safety has to be a priority.

Some of my Prairie Life clients at the Kansas City Tri!

Some of my Prairie Life clients at the Kansas City Tri!

I may  not have raced, but still had a fun weekend, bonding with some like-minded athletes.  And if anyone needs some motivation, my kids truly made my day when I got home from the race.  They knew I did not get to race, so with a little help from dad, they gave me some special awards:

Special Tri Awards-not exactly sure where the "Crush" came from.

Special Tri Awards-not exactly sure where the “Crush” came from.

I am still in the process of figuring out my race schedule, but will for sure race at HyVee, XTerra BOLT, Wall Lake, and possibly the newly added Clinton Lake, KS 5150 and Branson Half. So keep training and see you at the races!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Flatlander Tri Coaching

Welcome to my page. My name is Heather Dall and I am a Certified Triathlon Coach located in Omaha, NE. I work out of Prairie Life Fitness (132nd location) and provide triathlon coaching, knowledge, experience, and expertise to those looking to get into triathlons to the seasoned veteran looking to improve performance. Along with being a triathlon coach and athlete, I also manage a local Trek Bicycle Store. There is nothing better than being able to be in a passion industry and share my love of the sport. I am an endurance junkie who got into competitive racing back in 2000. I started off racing mountain bikes, taking the podium numerous times. Then the kids came along and I took some time off to raise the squirts. Back in 2009 my friend suckered me into a mini tri and really the rest is history. I have been doing triathlons ever since, usually about 4-6 triathlons per season-primarily Olympic and X-Terra, plus 10K races, off-road runs, charity bike rides, and the occasional bike race. My background prior to triathlons, is tennis. I grew up playing on the courts in Northern California with the goal to play in college. I did accomplish my goal and was a walk-on at Creighton University. Long story short, while working part-time at Prairie Life Fitness in 2008, I was asked to start a tennis program for youth and adults. I still run the program and coach tennis year round. And with my connections at my gym, I had the opportunity to co-teach a 12 week triathlon training program for about 20 ladies spring 2011. They primarily trained for the Omaha Women’s Tri with a few going on to race later in the season. The group was a huge success and is the main reason I studied to become a triathlon coach. I love helping people to achieve their goals, make new strides, and spread my wealth of knowledge on to other like-minded individuals. Along with coaching, I am a distributor for Juice+ For those looking to add more fruits and veggies to their diet and make smarter nutrition choices, check out my site: http://heatherdall.juiceplus.com/

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Bike, Coaching, motivation, Races, Run, Swim and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

